Ship Emissions Register

LNG carrier · United Kingdom flag · built 2007

BRITISH EMERALD: CO₂ emissions 2018–2025

IMO 9333591 MMSI 2732708907 reporting years

CO₂ reported 2023
37,926 t
Fuel burned
13,369 t
Time at sea
5,055 h
Emitted at berth
1% of total
Share of year under way
58%
Gross tonnage
102,064

No EU/EEA voyages were reported for 2025. The return shows zero CO₂ and zero time at sea, which means the vessel did not sail to, from or between EEA ports that year. It is not a cut in emissions, and that year is left out of the trend and of any ranking.

Emissions by year2018–2025

Year CO₂ (t) Fuel (t) Distance (nm) At sea (h) At berth (t) kg CO₂/nm EEOI Percentile
2025 No EU/EEA voyages reported
2023 37,926 13,369 — 5,055 401 651.4 — —
2022 19,091 6,872 — 1,784 174 957.5 — —
2021 7,971 2,794 — 620 163 767.9 — —
2020 36,994 13,406 — 3,246 1,280 780.8 — —
2019 5,674 2,039 — 1,019 1,001 586.8 — —
2018 19,250 6,990 — 1,322 4 896.1 — —

Vessel particulars

IMO number
9333591
Previously reported as
KMARIN EMERALD, COOL RIDER
MMSI
273270890
Call sign
UAPF9
Ship type
LNG carrier
Gross tonnage
102,064
Length overall
288.0 m
Beam
44.0 m
Year built
2007
Flag state
United Kingdom
Builder
HD Hyundai Heavy Industries
Port of registry
VALLETTA
Technical efficiency (design)
EEXI (7.3 gCO₂/t·nm)
Verifier
RINA HELLAS LTD, Greece
Accreditation
1325
Compliance document issued
2024-06-03
Compliance document expires
2025-06-30

Reported CO₂ by year

2018: 19,250 t201819,2502019: 5,674 t20192020: 36,994 t20202021: 7,971 t20212022: 19,091 t20222023: 37,926 t202337,926

Between 2018 and 2023 reported CO₂ rose by 97.0%. No return is recorded for 2024, so the series has gaps.

From 2022 to 2023, emissions rose 98.7% and CO₂ per nautical mile fell 32.0%.Distance was not reported for both years, so activity and efficiency cannot be separated here.

Where the 2023 emissions occurred

At berthAt berth: 401 t401Voyages to an EEA portVoyages to an EEA port: 18,312 t18,312Voyages from an EEA portVoyages from an EEA port: 19,214 t19,214

Observed movementsAIS · Norwegian waters

First seen
17 Jun 2026
Last seen
30 Jun 2026
Days observed
2
Positions
23
Median speed
17.8 kn

Positions come from the Norwegian Coastal Administration's open AIS extract, which covers 01 Jul 2025 to 27 Jul 2026. The register is not updated after 27 Jul 2026, so movements after that date are not included; absence of later positions does not mean the ship stopped sailing.

Norwegian waters only, 01 Jul 2025 to 27 Jul 2026. A gap here means the vessel was not recorded in that area. It is not evidence that the vessel was idle, and not evidence that a transponder was switched off. Voyages elsewhere are outside this dataset.

Verifier history

From reporting yearVerifierAccredited in
2018AMERICAN BUREAU OF SHIPPING HELLENIC SINGLE MEMBER LIMITED LIABILITY COMPANY (ABS HELLENIC S.M. LTD)Greece
2020HELLENIC LLOYD'S S.A.Greece
2022RINA HELLAS LTDGreece

A change of accredited verifier is shown because it matters for audit and data continuity. It is not in itself a sign of anything being wrong.

Sources and how to read this

What this page is built on

Reporting years
7
Ranked by efficiency
no
Vessel particulars
5 of 5
Movement data
yes
Name history
yes
Photograph
none licensed
Sanctions record
none
Inspection record
none in US waters
Caveats that apply to every vessel page

EEOI above 100,000 is withheld. Those values come from returns where reported transport work is near zero, which makes the ratio meaningless rather than extreme. Median across the dataset is around 12.

Emission categories overlap. In the MRV return, emissions at berth are also counted inside the voyage legs, so the categories do not sum to the total. They are shown side by side rather than stacked for that reason.

Distance is derived, intensity is reported. The MRV return publishes CO₂ per nautical mile but not the distance itself, which is null in all 106,564 rows of the source. The distance column is therefore filled from the ranking step, which reconstructs it, and is blank for years where a vessel was not ranked. That is why a row can show an intensity without a distance.

Percentile is within type and year. It is the vessel's position among qualifying ships of the same type that year, where lower is more efficient. A blank means the vessel did not qualify for ranking that year.

Sister ships share a builder, a type and a build year within two years of this vessel. That holds hull and machinery roughly constant and leaves operation as the variable, which is why they are listed before nearest-by-tonnage.

Methane and nitrous oxide start in 2024. They were not reported before that period, so earlier years cannot be compared against them.

Technical efficiency is a design figure fixed at construction. A vessel can hold a good index and still emit heavily by sailing fast, waiting at anchor or carrying little.

Inspection records cover United States waters only. An empty record is not evidence of a clean history elsewhere.

Empty means unreported, never zero. Nothing here is modelled, estimated or interpolated. See the methodology.

Something wrong on this page? See corrections. We do not hold the source registers and cannot amend them, but we will fix anything we have got wrong in reproducing them.

Comparable vesselssister ships and nearest by tonnage