Ship Emissions Register

Container ship · Antigua and Barbuda flag · built 2008

PLUTO: CO₂ emissions 2018–2025

IMO 9440590 MMSI 305412000EU ETS8 reporting years

CO₂ reported 2025
7,058 t
Fuel burned
2,242 t
Time at sea
2,913 h
Emitted at berth
8% of total
Share of year under way
33%
Gross tonnage
7,545

Emissions by year2018–2025

Year CO₂ (t) Fuel (t) Distance (nm) At sea (h) At berth (t) kg CO₂/nm EEOI Percentile
2025 7,058 2,242 — 2,913 555 244.8 51.9 not ranked
2024 2,979 955 — 1,233 70 255.7 98.1 not ranked
2023 8,056 2,577 — 3,519 180 238.9 77.6 not ranked
2022 3,840 1,216 — 1,744 442 215.9 73.5 not ranked
2021 11,375 3,586 52,426 4,216 941 217.0 58.7 97
2020 8,856 2,785 — 3,945 578 228.2 70.2 not ranked
2019 16,044 5,076 71,987 5,296 935 222.9 74.7 100
2018 11,352 3,585 45,695 5,935 393 248.4 66.1 98

Vessel particulars

IMO number
9440590
Previously reported as
SAMSKIP SKALAFELL, VENTO DI PONENTE, SUNSET X
MMSI
305412000
Call sign
V2EF4
Ship type
Container ship
Gross tonnage
7,545
Length overall
129.6 m
Beam
20.8 m
Year built
2008
Flag state
Antigua and Barbuda
Port of registry
St. John's
Ice class
IA
Technical efficiency (design)
EEXI (30.08 gCO₂/t·nm)
Efficiency ranking
Not ranked: transport work below the floor (2025)
Verifier
DNV, Germany
Accreditation
VS-16026-01
Compliance document issued
2026-03-16
Compliance document expires
2027-06-30

Reported CO₂ by year

2018: 11,352 t201811,3522019: 16,044 t20192020: 8,856 t20202021: 11,375 t20212022: 3,840 t20222023: 8,056 t20232024: 2,979 t20242025: 7,058 t20257,058

Between 2018 and 2025 reported CO₂ fell by 37.8%.

From 2024 to 2025, emissions rose 136.9% and CO₂ per nautical mile fell 4.2%.Distance was not reported for both years, so activity and efficiency cannot be separated here.

Where the 2025 emissions occurred

At berthAt berth: 555 t555Within EEA portsWithin EEA ports: 555 t555Voyages between EEA portsVoyages between EEA ports: 3,946 t3,946Voyages to an EEA portVoyages to an EEA port: 1,595 t1,595Voyages from an EEA portVoyages from an EEA port: 962 t962

Methane, nitrous oxide and EU ETS2025

Total CO₂ equivalent
7,168 t
Methane (CH₄)
0.11 t
Nitrous oxide (N₂O)
0.40 t
Under EU ETS
5,780 t, 82% of total

Observed movementsAIS · Norwegian waters

First seen
02 Oct 2025
Last seen
23 Jun 2026
Days observed
38
Positions
3,598
Median speed
12.5 kn

Positions come from the Norwegian Coastal Administration's open AIS extract, which covers 01 Jul 2025 to 27 Jul 2026. The register is not updated after 27 Jul 2026, so movements after that date are not included; absence of later positions does not mean the ship stopped sailing.

58.5059.0059.508.009.0010.00DrammenHortenArendalBrevikDrobakFredrikstadHolmestrandKrageroFirst observed positionLast observed position50 nm°N°E

400 points sampled hourly from 3,598 recorded positions. The filled circle is the first observed position, the open one the last. Named squares are ports, shown for orientation; they are not recorded calls.

Positions recorded per month

Oct 25: 239 positionsOct 25239Dec 25: 542 positionsDec 25Jan 26: 842 positionsJan 26Feb 26: 644 positionsFeb 26Mar 26: 542 positionsMar 26Apr 26: 60 positionsApr 26May 26: 48 positionsMay 26Jun 26: 681 positionsJun 26681

Norwegian waters only, 01 Jul 2025 to 27 Jul 2026. A gap here means the vessel was not recorded in that area. It is not evidence that the vessel was idle, and not evidence that a transponder was switched off. Voyages elsewhere are outside this dataset.

Sources and how to read this

What this page is built on

Reporting years
8
Ranked by efficiency
no
Vessel particulars
4 of 5
Movement data
yes
Name history
yes
Photograph
none licensed
Sanctions record
none
Inspection record
none in US waters
Caveats that apply to every vessel page

EEOI above 100,000 is withheld. Those values come from returns where reported transport work is near zero, which makes the ratio meaningless rather than extreme. Median across the dataset is around 12.

Emission categories overlap. In the MRV return, emissions at berth are also counted inside the voyage legs, so the categories do not sum to the total. They are shown side by side rather than stacked for that reason.

Distance is derived, intensity is reported. The MRV return publishes CO₂ per nautical mile but not the distance itself, which is null in all 106,564 rows of the source. The distance column is therefore filled from the ranking step, which reconstructs it, and is blank for years where a vessel was not ranked. That is why a row can show an intensity without a distance.

Percentile is within type and year. It is the vessel's position among qualifying ships of the same type that year, where lower is more efficient. A blank means the vessel did not qualify for ranking that year.

Sister ships share a builder, a type and a build year within two years of this vessel. That holds hull and machinery roughly constant and leaves operation as the variable, which is why they are listed before nearest-by-tonnage.

Methane and nitrous oxide start in 2024. They were not reported before that period, so earlier years cannot be compared against them.

Technical efficiency is a design figure fixed at construction. A vessel can hold a good index and still emit heavily by sailing fast, waiting at anchor or carrying little.

Inspection records cover United States waters only. An empty record is not evidence of a clean history elsewhere.

Empty means unreported, never zero. Nothing here is modelled, estimated or interpolated. See the methodology.

Something wrong on this page? See corrections. We do not hold the source registers and cannot amend them, but we will fix anything we have got wrong in reproducing them.

Comparable vesselsnearest by tonnage, same type